CORRT is a collective effort of eight universities: three lead institutions (Washington University School of Medicine, University of Pittsburgh, and University of Delaware) and five partnering institutions (Boston University, University of Colorado-Denver, Colorado State University, Emory University, and the University of Iowa). Collectively these institutions have a rich history of developing basic and applied rehabilitation scientists.

The focus of study at these institutions explores contemporary topics important to fostering diverse rehabilitation interests including: tissue pathophysiology and secondary complications; regenerative medicine; behavioral and social adaptation; movement science; cognitive processes; environment; occupational science; and activity and participation across a number of neurological and musculoskeletal diseases.

Selected scholars will spend the first two years at one of the eight participating institutions. The last three years of the scholar training will be based at their home institution.